Friday, March 3, 2017

Midland College inducts students into honor society

• 42 students honored for superior academic achievement

By Rebecca Bell
Dean of Community Relations & Special Events

On Tuesday evening, February 21, Midland College (MC) inducted 42 students into Phi Theta Kappa, the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society servicing two-year colleges around the world. Membership is based on superior academic achievements and is conferred only by invitation to students who have a minimum 3.5 grade point average.

MC President Dr. Steve Thomas and MC Executive Vice President Dr. Richard Jolly led the traditional ceremony where students were presented with a white rose in front of families and friends in the Allison Fine Arts Building Wagner & Brown Auditorium on the main MC campus.

In his keynote address, Dr. Thomas told the students, “It takes a tremendous amount of hard work to be successful in college. There’s no ‘magic bullet.’ One of the highlights in what I do is to work with successful students like you.”

2017 MC Phi Theta Kappa Inductees

Ryan Adams, John Frank Alvarado, Jacob Baley, Margaret Banschbach, Lauren Bell, Trevor Boyd, Amanda Brewer, Linda Britt, Brandee Brown, Mayra Burnola, Alexis Chavez, Kayla Close, Elizabeth Conder, Emily Cooley, Sarah Cooley, Logan Dotson, Tiffany Dumont, Andrea Espinoza, Kennedie Green, Ashley Hedrick, Tien Hoang, Gavin Inskeep, Katie Jones, Mekelee LaFoy, BreAnna LaFoy, Anna Liea, Larissa Montez, Jessie Nicholson, Kateri Oakley, Kinsey O’Reilly, Jamie Parks, Mikayla Rascon, Marissa Rodriquez, Jordan Shoults, Ted Singh, Jackie Spencer, Sarah Startton, Sim Taing, Aaron Tejeda, Alannah Visbeck, Angelica Washington and Eric Yang.

The ceremony included a tribute to former MC Phi Theta Kappa officer Wendy Tenorio, who was tragically killed in an automobile accident this past December. A Phi Theta Kappa student stipend has been established in Wendy’s honor to help pay membership fees for eligible MC students wanting to join the society but cannot afford to do so.

MC Phi Theta Kappa chapter advisors are Lea Keesee, director of the F. Marie Hall SimLife Center at Midland College, and Dr. Terry Gilmour, professor of Government.

No comments:

Post a Comment